- Home
- News
- Path of Exile 2
- Path of Exile 2 Full Release: December 11, 2026, Free-to-Play Launch & What Changes in 1.0

Path of Exile 2 Full Release: December 11, 2026, Free-to-Play Launch & What Changes in 1.0
Path of Exile 2 fully launches on December 11, 2026, with the date announced in PST. Grinding Gear Games confirmed the release at gamescom Opening Night Live. Version 1.0 ends the paid Early Access period and makes the action RPG free to play on PC, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S.
The Duelist is the headline new class, bringing sword-based combat into the launch lineup. For returning players, the other questions are just as important: what happens to existing characters, when the current leagues end, and which rewards can still be claimed before release.

PoE 2 Full Release at a Glance
| Detail | Current Information |
|---|---|
| Full release | December 11, 2026 (PST) |
| Launch version | 1.0, leaving Early Access |
| Access model | Free to play at full release |
| Platforms | PC, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S |
| New class | Duelist, confirmed for 1.0 |
| Campaign plan | Two additional acts, completing the planned six-act campaign |
| Next major showcase | ExileCon, November 7-8 in Auckland, New Zealand |
| Exact launch hour | Not specified in the release announcements checked for this article |
GGG gives the launch date in Pacific Standard Time. Depending on the eventual launch hour, some regions may enter the game on December 12 locally. Do not reuse the December 2024 Early Access launch time as a confirmed 1.0 schedule. Read GGG's release announcement.
The Duelist Arrives with Version 1.0
The Duelist is confirmed for December 11. GGG followed the reveal with an official class deep dive on August 27, so there is already preview footage to watch rather than just a name on a roadmap.
His sword-focused combat gives melee players another direction to explore. However, a preview is not a finalized build guide: it cannot establish launch-day damage rankings, mandatory uniques or the best Ascendancy. Wait for the actual 1.0 skill and passive details before committing to an expensive gearing plan.

Does 1.0 Include All 12 Classes?
The Steam feature description advertises 12 classes and 36 Ascendancies as the game's broader scope. That is not, by itself, a dated launch-roster announcement. GGG's full-release post specifically confirms the Duelist; a complete class-by-class 1.0 roster should be checked against subsequent announcements.
Campaign and Endgame: What GGG Has Outlined
GGG's Steam Early Access FAQ describes the current campaign as four acts and plans two more. That would complete the six-act story outlined for the full game.
The same FAQ lists additional classes and Ascendancies, skill gems, items, endgame content, areas, bosses and monsters among its development plans. These are useful expectations, but not a substitute for final 1.0 patch notes. Exact boss lists, loot changes and Atlas revisions should not be presented as settled until GGG publishes them.
For build planning, the practical distinction is simple: an Early Access guide can teach you the combat and progression systems, but its item prices and recommended setup may not survive the launch update unchanged.
What Happens to Early Access Characters?
GGG's standing policy is that Early Access characters are not wiped. Its original Early Access FAQ says those characters will remain after launch in Early Access leagues, rather than entering the new Standard environment.
Keeping a character is not the same as carrying its equipment and currency into a fresh launch economy. Detailed 1.0 migration instructions still matter, and the FAQ also warns that balance changes can affect old builds. Do not plan your release character around an assumed transfer.
Finish Current League Challenges Before 1.0
GGG's Forbidden Rites FAQ confirms that Forbidden Rites and Runes of Aldur both run until the full release. Players working on their remaining challenges can continue in those leagues before they end. Check your unfinished objectives now instead of leaving the final rewards for launch week.
Free Registration Rewards Before Release
GGG is running a separate full-release registration campaign for new and existing players. It unlocks exclusive cosmetics through community signup milestones.

| Cosmetic Reward | Registration Milestone |
|---|---|
| Soulflame Crown Helmet Attachment | Base registration reward |
| Soulflame Weapon Effect | 1 million registrations |
| Soulflame Portal | 2 million registrations |
| Chained Chimera Wings | 3 million registrations |
| Scourgeborn Boar Pet | 4 million registrations |
In its October 19 update, GGG confirmed that two cosmetics had been unlocked. The table lists the campaign's reward ladder, not a claim that every milestone has already been reached. Check the registration page for live progress.
Buying Early Access does not automatically register you. Enter your email on the official page, confirm the subscription through GGG's email and remain subscribed until reward distribution. Codes will be sent after full release, and a Path of Exile account is needed to redeem them. Register ahead of launch rather than relying on a last-minute signup.
Early Access Supporter Packs Are Leaving the Store
GGG's latest supporter-pack notice says the existing Early Access series will leave permanently in a few weeks and be replaced by five new packs. The notice does not give an exact removal day.
This matters for collectors interested in those packs' exclusive cosmetics. It does not mean everyone needs to buy one before December: the full game will be free to play. Decide based on whether you want access now or the specific pack contents, not because you need a purchase to play 1.0.
ExileCon Is the Next Major Information Checkpoint
ExileCon 2026 takes place on November 7-8 in Auckland, New Zealand. GGG has announced keynote reveals, developer panels and unreleased-content demos.
The official livestream schedule lists broadcasts from noon PST on November 6 and 7, with the opening keynote at 1 p.m. PST on November 6. The different dates reflect New Zealand's time zone. Streams will be available free on Twitch and YouTube.
What Still Needs a Final Announcement?
As of October 25, the material checked for this article does not provide a complete 1.0 launch schedule, preload instructions, final patch notes or detailed league-migration rules. A full launch-class roster, Duelist Ascendancy details and release-day build rankings should likewise be checked against GGG's next reveals.
How to Prepare Without Wasting Time
- Register and confirm your email. Existing players need to do this separately too.
- Finish current league goals. Prioritize remaining challenges before Forbidden Rites and Runes of Aldur end.
- Shortlist builds, then wait for patch notes. Favor a clear campaign plan over an unverified launch-tier claim.
- Separate practice from launch progression. Learning combat now is useful; assuming old wealth transfers is not.
- Check GGG's launch instructions. Confirm the local start time and download details when they are published.
Frequently Asked Questions
When does Path of Exile 2 fully release?
December 11, 2026, with GGG announcing the date in PST. The exact server-opening hour was not specified in the release announcements checked here.
Will PoE 2 be free, and do I need a supporter pack?
Version 1.0 will be free to play. Early Access purchases are separate from access to the full release, so a supporter pack is not required just to start playing on release.
Will my Early Access characters disappear?
GGG's standing FAQ says they remain after launch in Early Access leagues. That should not be confused with permission to bring those characters or their items into a new launch league.
The important change is the removal of the paid access requirement. December 11 is the date to plan around; the final build decisions should wait for GGG's remaining announcements.
POPULAR NEWS




